The best saffron growing kits pair healthy-looking Crocus sativus corms with clear planting details and a quantity that suits your space. My best overall pick is 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm, which stands out for its stated corm size and useful middle-ground quantity; the 5 Saffron Crocus Corms, 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions is a clearer starting point for beginners, while the 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, Fall-Blooming suits gardeners planting a broader display. The central tradeoff is between a small, manageable trial and a larger planting that needs more room and care. Pack counts alone do not tell the whole story: size information and planting guidance can matter just as much. Continue reading for the full comparison and advice on choosing a kit for your growing setup.
Get garden gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Corm size is one of the clearest differentiators: the 30-count jumbo pack specifies 11+ cm, while the 50-count option lists 9 cm and the 20-count option lists 9–10 cm.
- Planting guidance is not consistent across the lineup: two five-corm listings explicitly mention instructions, making them easier to evaluate for a first planting than listings without that detail.
- A higher count calls for more space and planning: the 45-, 50-, and 60-count options suit larger plantings better than a small container trial.
- The product names use both “bulbs” and “corms”, but the stated pack count, size, and growing information are more useful comparison points than the naming alone.
- No listing gives enough detail to promise a saffron harvest: growing conditions, corm health, and establishment affect results, so treat these kits as planting stock rather than guaranteed spice production.
| 10 Sativus Crocus Corms – Includes Planting Instructions | ![]() | Best for Clear Growing Guidance | Brand: Marde Ross & Company | Quantity: 10 corms | Planting depth: 3 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulbs | ![]() | Best Value for a Larger Starter Patch | Brand: CZ Grain | Quantity: 25 bulbs | Plant: Crocus sativus | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting | ![]() | Best for Perennial Bed Planting | Brand: Marde Ross & Company | Manufacturer: Rising Phoenix | Quantity: 10 corms | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Bulbs | ![]() | Best for Partly Shaded Containers | Plant: Crocus sativus | Quantity: 10 bulbs | Expected bloom period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, Fall-Blooming | ![]() | Best for Seasonal Color with a Culinary Harvest | Brand: Daylily Nursery | Quantity: 15 bulbs | Blooming season: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms (Crocus sativus), 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions | ![]() | Best for Beginners | Plant: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | Quantity: 5 corms | Corm size: 10+ cm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, Fall-Blooming | ![]() | Best for a Larger Garden Planting | Quantity: 45 bulbs | Blooming season: Fall | Planting season: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms (Crocus sativus), Fall Planting | ![]() | Best for Containers and Small Spaces | Quantity: 5 corms | Plant type: Crocus sativus | Bloom color: Purple | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm | ![]() | Best for Large, Ready-to-Plant Corms | Quantity: 30 bulbs | Bulb size: 11+ cm | Expected bloom period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 50 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms, 9 cm | ![]() | Best for Maximum Planting Quantity | Quantity: 50 corms | Corm size: Approximately 9 cm | Plant type: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Easy to Grow Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 60 Pack | ![]() | Best for a Larger Fall Display | Plant: Crocus sativus (saffron crocus) | Quantity: 60 bulbs | Bloom season: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 50 Pack | ![]() | Best for Culinary Saffron Potential | Plant: Saffron crocus | Quantity: 50 bulbs | Bloom season: Autumn | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corms, 9–10 cm | ![]() | Best for Larger Corms in a Small Planting | Plant: Crocus sativus | Quantity: 20 corms | Corm size: 9–10 cm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| saffron growing kit | Quantity | Sunlight |
|---|---|---|
| 10 Sativus Crocus Corms | 10 corms | Full sun |
| 25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulb | 25 bulbs | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus | 10 corms | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus | 10 bulbs | — |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 15 bulbs | — |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | 5 corms | — |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 45 bulbs | Full sun to partial shade |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | 5 corms | Full sun |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 30 bulbs | Full sun to partial shade; at least 4–6 hours of direct sunlight daily |
| 50 Saffron Crocus | 50 corms | Full sun |
| Easy to Grow Saffron Crocus Bu | 60 bulbs | Full sun |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 50 bulbs | — |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corm | 20 corms | Full sun |
More Details on Our Top Picks
10 Sativus Crocus Corms – Includes Planting Instructions
Planting instructions and defined growing needs make this 10-corm pack a useful starting point for gardeners who want a straightforward saffron project. Each corm is described as capable of producing three stigmas, and the compact quantity suits a container or a small sunny bed. Compared with 25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulbs, this pack offers fewer planting spots, but its supplied instructions and specific guidance on summer dormancy make the care routine easier to plan. The tradeoff is that saffron growing still depends on a dry summer period, full sun, and sandy soil, so it is not a fit for every garden. Ten corms also limit the potential harvest; I would choose a larger pack if culinary yield matters more than keeping the planting small.
Pros:- Includes planting instructions and specifies a 3-inch planting depth.
- Each corm is described as producing three saffron stigmas.
- Non-GMO and free from neonicotinoid seed treatments.
- Compact pack suits a small garden or container.
Cons:- Ten corms limit the potential harvest compared with the 25-bulb CZ Grain pack.
- Needs full sun and sandy soil.
- Summer dormancy calls for little to no watering, which can be hard to manage in a regularly irrigated bed.
Best for: New saffron growers who want planting instructions and a small number of corms for a sunny container or compact bed.
Not ideal for: Gardeners seeking a larger harvest or those whose planting area stays wet through summer.
- Brand:Marde Ross & Company
- Quantity:10 corms
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Expected bloom:Fall
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Soil type:Sandy
- Moisture needs:Little to no watering during summer dormancy
- Expected plant height:11 inches
- Growing attributes:Non-GMO; neonicotinoid-free seed treatment
Our verdict“Choose this pack if you want a small saffron planting with instructions and can provide sunny, sandy conditions and a dry summer rest.”
25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulbs
With 25 bulbs, this pack gives a beginner room to plant a more visible saffron patch without stepping up to the much larger 45-bulb option elsewhere in the roundup. It is described as low-maintenance and suitable for outdoor beds, balconies, or containers, making it more flexible for growers without a traditional garden. Like the 10-corm Marde Ross packs, it calls for sandy soil and seasonal fall growth; unlike those listings, the product details do not state a planting depth or a per-corm stigma yield. That leaves less guidance for planning a harvest. Its fall planting recommendation also narrows timing, so it is not as adaptable as a pack described as plantable anytime. I’d favor this one for planting quantity and placement flexibility, not for unusually detailed cultivation instructions.
Pros:- Includes 25 bulbs, more than the 10-corm packs in this group.
- Listed for outdoor gardens, balconies, and containers.
- Described as low-maintenance and beginner-friendly.
- Heirloom material feature is specified.
Cons:- Fall planting is recommended, limiting planting-time flexibility.
- Sandy soil is specified, which may require amending heavier garden soil.
- No planting depth or stigma yield per bulb is provided in the product data.
Best for: First-time growers with a balcony, container, or outdoor bed who want more planting spots than a 10-corm pack provides.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed planting measurements or want stated per-corm harvest expectations.
- Brand:CZ Grain
- Quantity:25 bulbs
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Blooming period:Fall
- Planting period:Fall
- Usage:Outdoor
- Soil type:Sandy soil
- Special feature:Low maintenance
- Material feature:Heirloom
Our verdict“Pick this pack for a moderate-sized, flexible planting area if you value bulb count over detailed harvest and planting specifications.”
10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting
This is the strongest fit here for gardeners planning a perennial outdoor bed: the corms are described as forming clumps and remaining undisturbed, so the planting can develop over time rather than being treated as a one-season display. Each corm is listed as producing three stigmas, a useful harvest detail shared with the other 10-corm Marde Ross listing. Compared with that product, this one specifies loam soil and USDA hardiness zone 3, while the other calls for sandy soil and highlights non-GMO, neonicotinoid-free treatment. The main commitment is seasonal care: foliage should die back and watering should be withheld during summer dormancy. With only ten corms and a late-fall bloom, it is less suited to growers seeking a quick, sizable harvest or flowers across multiple seasons.
Pros:- Each corm is listed as producing three saffron stigmas.
- Perennial corms can form clumps and remain undisturbed.
- Specifies loam soil and USDA hardiness zone 3.
- Purple flowers are described as attracting pollinators.
Cons:- Summer dormancy requires withholding water.
- Late-fall flowering offers a limited seasonal bloom window.
- Ten corms provide a smaller starting patch than the 25-bulb CZ Grain pack.
Best for: Outdoor gardeners in suitable climates who want to establish a small saffron bed that can form perennial clumps.
Not ideal for: Indoor growers, gardeners wanting blooms outside late fall, or anyone unable to leave the bed dry during summer dormancy.
- Brand:Marde Ross & Company
- Manufacturer:Rising Phoenix
- Quantity:10 corms
- Plant type:Perennial
- Bloom season:Late fall
- Stigmas per corm:3
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Soil type:Loam
- USDA hardiness zone:3
Our verdict“Choose this 10-corm set for a long-term outdoor planting if you can accommodate its late-fall bloom and dry summer dormancy.”
10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Bulbs
The standout here is its stated tolerance for full sun or partial shade, which gives container growers more placement options than the full-sun 10-corm Marde Ross listings. These 10 bulbs can go in the ground or in containers, and the product describes moderately watered sandy soil rather than the pronounced summer dry period specified for those corms. That may make its care notes feel less demanding, but the listing does not clarify seasonal watering changes or give a per-bulb stigma yield, so harvest planning is less specific. It also recommends fall planting, unlike the first Marde Ross pack’s claim that corms can be planted anytime. I’d choose this set for a small, adaptable display; growers prioritizing cultivation detail or a larger patch should compare it with the 25-bulb CZ Grain option.
Pros:- Suitable for planting in the ground or in containers.
- Lists full sun or partial shade, offering more placement flexibility than full-sun options.
- Fall-blooming Crocus sativus bulbs.
- Moderate watering is specified rather than an explicit little-to-no-water instruction.
Cons:- Fall planting is recommended, limiting timing flexibility.
- Only ten bulbs are included.
- The product data does not state stigma yield per bulb or planting depth.
Best for: Container gardeners with a partly shaded spot who want a small fall-blooming saffron planting.
Not ideal for: Growers who need a stated stigma yield, detailed seasonal care instructions, or more than ten bulbs.
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Quantity:10 bulbs
- Expected bloom period:Fall
- Expected planting period:Fall
- Sunlight exposure:Full sun or partial shade
- Soil type:Sandy
- Watering:Moderate
- Planting use:Ground or containers
Our verdict“Choose this set for a small container planting where partial shade is useful, but look elsewhere for detailed harvest guidance or greater capacity.”
15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, Fall-Blooming
This 15-bulb pack sits between the 10-corm sets and the 25-bulb CZ Grain pack, making it a middle-ground choice for gardeners who want a more noticeable fall planting without committing to a larger patch. Its lilac-purple flowers and red stigmas combine seasonal display with a potential culinary harvest, while full sun to partial shade allows more placement choice than the full-sun Marde Ross listings. The tradeoff is that the bulbs should be planted promptly after delivery and need well-drained ground; wet soil is specifically a poor match. Its listed hardiness range is USDA zones 5–8, narrower than the zone 3 specification on the perennial Marde Ross corms. I’d choose it for a timely fall planting in suitable, well-drained conditions, not for gardeners who need flexible planting dates or wet-ground tolerance.
Pros:- Includes 15 bulbs, more than the 10-bulb sets but fewer than the 25-bulb option.
- Red stigmas are described as usable for culinary seasoning.
- Lilac-purple flowers add fall color.
- Suitable for full sun to partial shade.
Cons:- Bulbs should be planted promptly after delivery.
- Does not tolerate wet ground and needs well-drained soil.
- Listed USDA hardiness range is zones 5–8.
Best for: Gardeners in USDA zones 5–8 who can plant promptly and want fall flowers alongside saffron stigmas for cooking.
Not ideal for: Growers in wet planting areas, outside the listed hardiness range, or anyone unable to plant soon after delivery.
- Brand:Daylily Nursery
- Quantity:15 bulbs
- Blooming season:Fall
- Flower color:Lilac-purple
- Sun exposure:Full sun to partial shade
- Planting season:Fall
- USDA hardiness zone:5–8
- Soil type:Sandy
- Moisture needs:Moderate; does not tolerate wet ground
Our verdict“Choose this pack for a mid-sized culinary and ornamental planting if you can plant promptly in well-drained soil within zones 5–8.”
5 Saffron Crocus Corms (Crocus sativus), 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions
For a first saffron-growing attempt, I’d favor this five-corm set for its included planting instructions and clearly stated care routine. The guidance—plant 3 inches deep in sandy soil, then withhold water during summer dormancy—makes the seasonal cycle easier to plan than with the 45-bulb Daylily Nursery set, whose larger quantity calls for more planting space. Each corm can produce three stigmas, but five corms are a small trial rather than a meaningful cooking supply. These corms suit beds or containers and may form clumps if left undisturbed. The tradeoff is patience: blooms arrive in late fall, and the plants need the right dry summer rest. I’d choose this for learning the crop, not for maximizing harvest.
Pros:- Includes planting instructions and a specified 3-inch planting depth.
- Five corms are manageable for a first planting or a small container.
- Each corm can produce three saffron-bearing stigmas.
- Suitable for garden beds and containers, indoors or outdoors.
Cons:- Requires withholding water during summer dormancy.
- Late-fall flowering limits the harvest to a seasonal window.
- Five corms offer little scale for culinary harvesting.
Best for: First-time growers who want a small, instruction-supported trial in a garden bed or container.
Not ideal for: Cooks hoping to harvest a useful amount of saffron soon, since five corms yield only a limited number of flowers.
- Plant:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Quantity:5 corms
- Corm size:10+ cm
- Bloom period:Late fall
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Soil:Sandy
- Growing locations:Indoor or outdoor; garden beds or containers
- Watering:Moderate; withhold water during summer dormancy
Our verdict“Choose this set to learn saffron crocus care on a small scale, but pick the 45-bulb Daylily Nursery option if planting quantity matters more.”
45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, Fall-Blooming
Among the five options here, I’d pick this 45-bulb set when the aim is a substantial patch rather than a handful of test plants. It offers far more planting material than either five-corm set, making it a better fit for a garden bed and a larger potential flower harvest. The bulbs suit USDA zones 5–8 and grow in full sun to partial shade, while the 30 Jumbo set covers a broader stated zone range and gives a bulb-size specification this listing lacks. Plan to plant promptly after delivery: the bulbs need roughly 4–6 weeks to root and prepare to flower. Its main limitation is site sensitivity—wet ground is unsuitable, and sandy, well-drained soil is the safer choice. This is a quantity-first pick, not the most forgiving option for damp gardens.
Pros:- 45 bulbs support a broader planting than either five-corm option.
- Produces flowers with red stigmas that can be harvested for saffron.
- Suitable for full sun to partial shade.
- Specified for USDA hardiness zones 5–8.
Cons:- Bulbs should be planted promptly after delivery.
- Does not tolerate wet ground.
- The listing does not specify bulb size, making size comparisons harder.
Best for: Gardeners in USDA zones 5–8 with a sunny, well-drained bed and room for a sizable saffron crocus planting.
Not ideal for: Growers with heavy, waterlogged soil or anyone unable to plant the bulbs soon after delivery.
- Quantity:45 bulbs
- Blooming season:Fall
- Planting season:Fall
- Rooting time:Typically 4–6 weeks
- Sunlight:Full sun to partial shade
- USDA hardiness zones:5–8
- Soil:Well-drained sandy soil
- Flower color:Lilac-purple
Our verdict“Choose this for a larger fall planting in well-drained soil; the 30 Jumbo set is a better match if stated bulb size and wider zone coverage matter more.”
5 Saffron Crocus Corms (Crocus sativus), Fall Planting
This five-corm pack makes the most sense for a small sunny bed, raised bed, or container, with room to grow if the plants return and multiply. Like the 10+ cm five-corm set, it keeps the initial planting modest; unlike that option, this listing specifies full sun and USDA zones 4–8, which helps buyers match it to a site. Its loam soil specification also differs from the sandy-soil guidance on the 45-bulb Daylily Nursery set, though good drainage remains a stated need. The listing describes the bloom window as summer to winter, a broad range rather than a precise harvest date. Don’t mistake five corms for a pantry supply: many flowers are needed for even a small amount of dried saffron, and results vary with climate and care.
Pros:- Works in garden beds, raised beds, and containers.
- May return and multiply in favorable conditions.
- States a hardiness range of USDA zones 4–8.
- Produces purple flowers with red saffron-bearing stigmas.
Cons:- Five corms are unlikely to yield much dried saffron.
- Requires full sun and well-drained soil.
- Flowering varies with climate and growing conditions, and the listed bloom window is broad.
Best for: Container gardeners or small-space growers in zones 4–8 who have a full-sun location and want a compact perennial planting.
Not ideal for: Anyone seeking a sizable saffron harvest or unable to provide full sun and well-drained soil.
- Quantity:5 corms
- Plant type:Crocus sativus
- Bloom color:Purple
- Expected blooming period:Summer to winter
- Sunlight:Full sun
- USDA hardiness zones:4–8
- Soil:Loam
- Watering:Moderate
Our verdict“Pick this for a compact, potentially recurring planting in a sunny space; choose the 45-bulb set for greater planting scale.”
30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm
The draw here is the combination of 30 corms sized 11+ cm and a stated pre-sprouted, ready-to-plant condition. That makes this a stronger choice for growers who want more than a starter handful but don’t need the 45 bulbs in the Daylily Nursery set. Its stated USDA zones 4–10 also span a wider range than that 45-bulb option. Expect fall flowers from a site with at least 4–6 hours of direct sun, and use well-drained sandy loam with low-to-moderate moisture to guard against rot. The tradeoff is that the larger planting still produces a seasonal harvest, not a steady supply: flowering is expected in fall, and careful watering matters. It suits beds and containers, indoors or outdoors, but requires suitable light and drainage.
Pros:- Includes 30 corms sized 11+ cm.
- Described as pre-sprouted and ready to plant.
- Listed for USDA zones 4–10.
- Can grow in beds or containers, indoors or outdoors.
Cons:- Requires well-drained soil and careful watering to help prevent rot.
- Flowers and harvest are seasonal, with blooms expected in fall.
- Needs at least 4–6 hours of direct sunlight per day.
Best for: Growers who want a mid-sized planting of specified jumbo corms and live in one of the listed zones 4–10.
Not ideal for: Gardeners with poorly drained soil, shaded planting sites, or a preference for minimal seasonal watering management.
- Quantity:30 bulbs
- Bulb size:11+ cm
- Expected bloom period:Fall
- Planting period:Late summer to early fall, typically August through October
- Sunlight:Full sun to partial shade; at least 4–6 hours of direct sunlight daily
- USDA hardiness zones:4–10
- Soil:Well-drained sandy loam
- Expected plant height:6 inches
Our verdict“Choose this for a sizable planting with jumbo, pre-sprouted corms; choose the 45-bulb set if quantity outweighs corm-size detail.”
50 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms, 9 cm
With 50 corms, this set has the largest stated quantity in this batch, making it the clear choice for a broad outdoor planting rather than a small container trial. It outnumbers the 45-bulb Daylily Nursery set, though its 9 cm corms are smaller than the 11+ cm corms in the 30 Jumbo option. Planting instructions are included, and the listed routine—water after planting, then withhold water during summer dormancy—gives the grower a practical seasonal outline. The tradeoff is the work involved: a large planting needs space and careful management, and flowering is listed for summer rather than the fall bloom specified by several alternatives. I’d choose it for quantity and instructions, not for the largest corms or the simplest care schedule.
Pros:- Includes 50 corms, the largest stated quantity in this batch.
- Planting instructions are included.
- Each flower can produce three saffron-bearing stigmas.
- Specifies full sun and an outdoor growing use.
Cons:- At 9 cm, the corms are smaller than the 11+ cm 30 Jumbo option.
- Requires withholding water during summer dormancy.
- The listed summer bloom period differs from the fall timing stated for several alternatives.
Best for: Outdoor growers with room for a large planting who value a 50-corm quantity and included seasonal instructions.
Not ideal for: Container growers with limited space, or buyers prioritizing larger corms and a clearly stated fall bloom period.
- Quantity:50 corms
- Corm size:Approximately 9 cm
- Plant type:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Planting period:Fall
- Expected blooming period:Summer
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Expected plant height:12 inches
- Watering:Moderate; withhold water during summer dormancy
Our verdict“Choose this for the broadest outdoor planting and included instructions, but pick the 30 Jumbo set for larger corms or a specified fall bloom.”
Easy to Grow Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 60 Pack
For gardeners who want a substantial outdoor planting, this 60-bulb pack offers the most bulbs among these three options. The fall-blooming purple flowers can bring color across a wider bed, while the stated USDA zones 6–9 give buyers a clear climate range to check before planting. Compared with Votaniki’s 50-bulb pack, this supplies ten more bulbs and specifies planting depth and spacing, which helps with laying out a bed. The tradeoff is that the instructions call for amended soil, full sun, and moderate watering, so it is not a ready-to-grow indoor kit. Its zone range also rules it out for gardeners in colder areas; the 20-corm Marde Ross & Company option lists a different zone, though its supplied zone information is limited to zone 3.
Pros:- Includes 60 bulbs, the largest quantity among these three products
- Fall bloom and purple flowers suit a late-season garden display
- Provides planting depth and spacing for planning a bed
- Lists a defined hardiness range of USDA zones 6–9
Cons:- Outdoor planting only; it does not provide an indoor growing option
- Requires full sun and amended soil rather than a simple container setup
- The stated zones exclude gardeners in colder or hotter climates
Best for: Outdoor gardeners in USDA zones 6–9 who want enough bulbs to create a broad autumn display and can prepare a sunny, amended-soil bed.
Not ideal for: Gardeners outside zones 6–9, people seeking an indoor growing setup, or buyers who want detailed culinary harvest guidance.
- Plant:Crocus sativus (saffron crocus)
- Quantity:60 bulbs
- Bloom season:Fall
- Flower color:Purple
- USDA hardiness zones:6–9
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Planting depth and spacing:3–4 inches deep; 2–3 inches apart
- Growing conditions:Amended soil; moderate watering
Our verdict“Choose this pack for a sizeable fall planting in zones 6–9, but skip it if your climate falls outside that range or you need an indoor kit.”
Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 50 Pack
Votaniki makes the harvest goal especially clear: its purple autumn flowers have bright red stigmas that can be gathered for homegrown saffron. That focus gives it a more direct culinary angle than the Easy to Grow 60-pack, whose supplied details emphasize flower display, planting depth, and spacing. With 50 bulbs, it still suits a meaningful garden patch, though buyers choosing strictly by quantity get more bulbs from Easy to Grow. The growing guidance is less specific here: it calls for a sunny location and well-draining soil but gives no hardiness-zone range, planting depth, or spacing. That leaves climate fit and bed planning to the buyer. It is a sensible pick for newer growers as well as experienced gardeners, provided they can offer the right outdoor conditions.
Pros:- Describes bright red stigmas as harvestable for homegrown saffron
- Provides 50 bulbs for a substantial garden planting
- Autumn flowers add late-season color
- Presented as suitable for novice and experienced gardeners
Cons:- Requires a sunny site and well-draining soil
- No hardiness-zone range is supplied, making climate suitability harder to judge
- Planting depth and spacing are not specified
Best for: Home cooks and gardeners who want to try harvesting saffron stigmas from an autumn-flowering outdoor planting.
Not ideal for: Gardeners who need a stated hardiness zone, precise planting measurements, or a product described for indoor growing.
- Plant:Saffron crocus
- Quantity:50 bulbs
- Bloom season:Autumn
- Flower color:Purple with bright red stigmas
- Growing location:Sunny location
- Soil:Well-draining
Our verdict“Pick Votaniki if harvesting saffron is your main aim and you can provide sun and well-draining soil, but choose a listing with clearer climate guidance if zone fit is uncertain.”
20 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corms, 9–10 cm
This 20-corm option stands apart through its stated 9–10 cm corm size and included planting instructions, rather than a high bulb count. That makes it a focused choice for gardeners who prefer a smaller planting and want size information before they buy. By comparison, the Easy to Grow 60-pack is better suited to covering a larger bed, while Votaniki gives a clearer description of harvestable red stigmas. This listing says successful plants can produce saffron threads, but its supplied details are less consistent: it describes the expected bloom period as summer and lists the color as orange, unlike the autumn purple flowers described for the other two. Treat those details as a reason to verify expectations before planting. It is outdoor-only and calls for full sun and loam soil.
Pros:- Includes 20 corms with planting instructions
- Specifies corm size at 9–10 cm
- Suitable for outdoor planting in full sun
- Describes the potential to produce saffron threads when grown successfully
Cons:- Smaller quantity than the 50- and 60-bulb packs in this group
- Lists summer bloom and orange color, unlike the autumn purple flowers described by the other two products
- Provides only a USDA zone 3 designation, with no broader climate guidance
Best for: Gardeners seeking a smaller outdoor planting with specified large corms and included planting instructions.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a large display, clear autumn-blooming guidance, or a well-explained climate range beyond the listed zone 3.
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Quantity:20 corms
- Corm size:9–10 cm
- Use:Outdoor
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Soil:Loam
- Expected plant height:11 inches
- Expected bloom period:Summer
- USDA hardiness zone:3
Our verdict“Choose this for a smaller planting where specified corm size matters more than quantity, but verify the unusual bloom and color details if you expect autumn purple flowers.”

How We Picked
I compared these listings as saffron-growing kits for home gardeners, not as guaranteed spice-producing packages. The ranking gives more weight to details that help a buyer make a sound planting decision: stated corm size, pack count, whether planting instructions are named, and whether the listing identifies fall flowering or planting. These details help indicate how easy it is to plan a bed or container and how much uncertainty remains before purchase.
The 30 jumbo corms at 11+ cm lead because they combine a clearly stated size with a quantity suited to a substantial home planting. Smaller instruction-included packs rank well for beginners because they provide a more manageable starting scale, while larger packs earn a place for gardeners prepared to plant more. Listings with no size or guidance details rank lower—not because their corms are necessarily inferior, but because the available information offers less basis for comparison. I do not infer germination, harvest volume, or quality beyond the information in each product name.
| saffron growing kit | Sunlight |
|---|---|
| 10 Sativus Crocus Corms | Full sun |
| 25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulb | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus | — |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | — |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | — |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | Full sun to partial shade |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | Full sun |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs | Full sun to partial shade; at least 4–6 hours of direct sunlight daily |
| 50 Saffron Crocus | Full sun |
| Easy to Grow Saffron Crocus Bu | Full sun |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs | — |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corm | Full sun |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Saffron Growing Kits
Choosing saffron corms is partly a garden-planning decision and partly a question of how much uncertainty you are willing to accept. I would settle the growing space and planting plan before comparing pack counts, then use listing details to identify what is known—and what remains unclear.
Match the Pack Count to Your Planting Space
A large pack can look like better coverage, but every corm needs appropriate planting space and a spot with suitable growing conditions. Before ordering 45, 50, or 60 corms, map the bed or containers and decide whether you can plant the full batch at the right time. A five- or ten-corm pack gives you a smaller trial, though it may not create the broad planting you have in mind. Avoid buying by count alone if you have not measured your usable space. If you plan to expand gradually, a modest first planting can teach you more than an oversized order that is difficult to manage.
Read Size Claims as a Comparison Tool, Not a Harvest Promise
Size information helps distinguish listings: this roundup includes corms described as 9 cm, 9–10 cm, 10+ cm, and 11+ cm. Those labels make comparison easier, but they do not establish how many flowers or how much saffron a kit will produce. Ask whether the seller explains how the measurement is taken and whether the stated size applies to every corm in the pack. If that information is absent, avoid assuming that a larger stated diameter guarantees a better outcome. Choose the listing with the clearest, most relevant details rather than treating one measurement as a complete quality assessment.
Check What “Kit” Actually Includes
Most products in this lineup are corm packs rather than all-in-one growing systems with pots, soil, or tools. Only some titles explicitly mention planting instructions, so check the listing before assuming a guide is included. New growers may value a concise planting guide more than extra corms, especially when timing and site preparation are unfamiliar. Experienced gardeners may prefer to source their own supplies and focus on corm size and quantity. If instructions are not supplied, plan to consult a reliable growing reference before planting rather than relying on the product name alone.
Plan Around Fall Timing and Your Local Conditions
Several listings call out fall blooming or fall planting, making seasonality part of the choice rather than a minor label. Check the seller’s recommended shipping and planting window against your local conditions before ordering. A corm pack arriving when the ground is unsuitable may create storage and timing questions the listing does not answer. Gardeners with a short planting window should look for explicit guidance on timing and storage, and ask the seller if those details are missing. Do not assume that “fall-blooming” by itself explains the right planting date for every climate.
Choose a Trial Size or a Larger Commitment
A small pack makes sense when you are learning the crop, testing a location, or working with limited container space. A larger count is a better fit when you already have a prepared bed and are comfortable caring for a sizable planting. Buying more corms does not remove the need for drainage, suitable light, and seasonal care. It can also magnify the impact of unclear seller information or poor storage before planting. I would pay for a larger pack only when its size and quantity details answer a real planning need, rather than simply because the number looks generous.
Look for Clear Seller Details Before Ordering
Product titles in this group vary between “bulbs” and “corms,” and some provide much more information than others. Before placing an order, check whether the listing states the botanical name, size range, pack quantity, planting timing, and what happens if stock arrives damaged or unsuitable. These checks matter because the title alone cannot confirm the condition or uniformity of the corms. If the listing leaves key details unanswered, contact the seller or choose an option with clearer information. This is a more dependable way to compare than relying on broad claims about ease or abundance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a small corm pack or one of the larger packs?
Choose by prepared planting space and experience, not by pack count alone. A five- or ten-corm pack is easier to manage for a first attempt or a small container setup, while 45–60 corms call for a larger, planned area. Larger packs may make sense if you already know your site and planting routine, but they do not guarantee a larger harvest. If this is your first season, a smaller pack can limit the cost and effort of learning. You can scale up after seeing how saffron crocus grows in your conditions.
Does a corm marked 11+ cm mean it will produce more saffron?
Not by itself. The 11+ cm and other size claims in this roundup help compare listing details, but they do not promise flowering or a specific saffron yield. Results also depend on corm condition, growing conditions, and care. Check how the seller measures corms and whether the size applies to all items in the pack. Treat size as one useful selection clue, not a harvest guarantee.
Are these products complete growing kits with pots and soil?
The product names describe corm or bulb packs, and they do not establish that pots, soil, or tools are included. Two listings explicitly mention planting instructions, but that still does not make them complete supply kits. Read the item contents carefully before ordering and plan to provide a suitable planting medium and container or garden bed if needed. If you need an all-in-one package, confirm every included item with the seller. Otherwise, compare these options as planting stock.
When should I order saffron crocus corms for fall planting?
Use the seller’s stated shipping and planting guidance alongside your local growing calendar. Some titles identify fall planting or fall blooming, but those phrases alone do not give a precise date for every region. Before ordering, check whether the corms will arrive in time for your planting window and whether the seller provides storage advice if planting must wait. If your local conditions differ from the seller’s general instructions, ask for clarification. Avoid ordering too early or too late without a plan for keeping the corms in suitable condition.
Which listing is the safest choice if I am new to growing saffron crocus?
The five-corm option that specifies 10+ cm and includes planting instructions is the most approachable starting point based on the details provided. Its small count is easier to handle than the 30-, 45-, or 60-corm packs, and the named instructions address a common first-time need. The other five-corm listing also mentions instructions but does not state a size, so it offers less information for comparison. Neither listing can guarantee success, so check the full care guidance and suitability for your site before planting. Start small if you are still learning the crop’s seasonal requirements.
Conclusion
For the strongest balance of stated size and a useful home-garden quantity, I would choose 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm as the best overall option. The best value depends on your needs: the 25 Saffron Crocus Sativus Bulbs offers a middle-sized pack, while the listing provides fewer size and instruction details than the standout size-specific choices. For a premium-style pick based on the information available, choose the 30 jumbo corms for their explicit 11+ cm claim—not as a promise of superior harvest. Beginners should start with the 5 corms, 10+ cm, with planting instructions; gardeners who want a larger planting can compare the 45-count fall-blooming and 50-count options. If your priority is a stated size in a smaller-to-midrange quantity, the 20 corms, 9–10 cm listing is a focused alternative. Match the order to your space, timing, and comfort with the growing process, and verify any details the listing leaves open.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














